EMCC Catalog 2022-2023 
    Sep 29, 2023  
EMCC Catalog 2022-2023 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Statement of Purpose


East Mississippi Community College was organized in 1927 following its beginnings in 1912 as Kemper County Agricultural High School. The College serves and is supported by Clay, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lowndes, Noxubee and Oktibbeha counties in east central Mississippi. East Mississippi Community College is one of fifteen state-supported community colleges.

The physical plant consists of two principal locations. The Scooba Campus, located at Scooba, Mississippi, in Kemper County and the Golden Triangle Campus, located at Mayhew, Mississippi, in Lowndes County. The College also offers courses at the Columbus Lion Hills Center, and Communiversity. In 2000, East Mississippi Community College began offering courses through the Mississippi Virtual Community College.

Location Abbreviations: SC - Scooba Campus, GT - Golden Triangle Campus, LH - Lion Hills Center
CV - Communiversity at the Center for Manufacturing Excellence 2.0


East Mississippi Community College establishes the standard of excellence for comprehensive community colleges in Mississippi.

The Mission of East Mississippi Community College

East Mississippi Community College is a public community college serving six counties in East Central Mississippi, offering university-parallel programs, career-technical programs, and workforce programs. EMCC is dedicated to improving the quality of life for our students, our community, and our personnel through instructional opportunities, with specific focus on a healthy mind, body, and spirit.


  1. Leadership built on respect for self and others and demonstrated in our local communities
  2. Excellence in education, service and lifelong learning
  3. Access to instructional opportunities on campus and online
  4. Freedom in teaching and learning within a supportive, communicative, diverse, and caring environment

Expectations of the College

Students at East Mississippi Community College who have specialized in an academic area and who have received an associate degree should be prepared to meet the requirements for continuing academic work. Similarly, those students who graduate with an associate of applied science degree or are certified in technical or career training areas should be prepared to succeed in employment opportunities in their field of preparation.

Any person reached by the College through participation in instructional, cultural, or workforce services should be aided in achieving the best quality of life possible. This development of the individual will lead to district citizenry being well prepared to meet the needs and challenges of the region, the nation, and the world.

Control and Support

The College is under the direction of the President, who is the chief executive officer, and a Board of Trustees composed of twelve members who are chosen from the six counties which comprise the College’s service area. The President of the College is appointed by this board and serves to administer the operations of the College under the direction, advice, and consent of the Board of Trustees. East Mississippi Community College receives financial support from appropriations from the state legislature and through tuition and fees. In addition, there are six counties levying tax support for East Mississippi Community College.

Those counties and their Boards of Supervisors are listed below.