EMCC Catalog 2023-2024 
    Jun 20, 2024  
EMCC Catalog 2023-2024

About EMCC


East Mississippi Community College was organized in 1927 following its beginnings in 1912 as Kemper County Agricultural High School. The College serves and is supported by Clay, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lowndes, Noxubee and Oktibbeha counties in east central Mississippi. East Mississippi Community College is one of fifteen state-supported community colleges.

The physical plant consists of two principal locations. The Scooba Campus, located at Scooba, Mississippi, in Kemper County and the Golden Triangle Campus, located at Mayhew, Mississippi, in Lowndes County. The College also offers courses at the Columbus Lion Hills Center, and Communiversity. In 2000, East Mississippi Community College began offering courses through the Mississippi Virtual Community College.

Location Abbreviations: SC - Scooba Campus, GT - Golden Triangle Campus, LH - Lion Hills Center
CV - Communiversity


East Mississippi Community College establishes the standard of excellence for comprehensive community colleges in Mississippi.

The Mission of East Mississippi Community College

East Mississippi Community College is a public community college serving six counties in East Central Mississippi, offering university-parallel programs, career-technical programs, and workforce programs. EMCC is dedicated to improving the quality of life for our students, our community, and our personnel through instructional opportunities, with specific focus on a healthy mind, body, and spirit.


  1. Leadership built on respect for self and others and demonstrated in our local communities
  2. Excellence in education, service and lifelong learning
  3. Access to instructional opportunities on campus and online
  4. Freedom in teaching and learning within a supportive, communicative, diverse, and caring environment

Expectations of the College

Students at East Mississippi Community College who have specialized in an academic area and who have received an associate degree should be prepared to meet the requirements for continuing academic work. Similarly, those students who graduate with an associate of applied science degree or are certified in technical or career training areas should be prepared to succeed in employment opportunities in their field of preparation.

Any person reached by the College through participation in instructional, cultural, or workforce services should be aided in achieving the best quality of life possible. This development of the individual will lead to district citizenry being well prepared to meet the needs and challenges of the region, the nation, and the world.

Control and Support

The College is under the direction of the President, who is the chief executive officer, and a Board of Trustees composed of twelve members who are chosen from the six counties which comprise the College’s service area. The President of the College is appointed by this board and serves to administer the operations of the College under the direction, advice, and consent of the Board of Trustees. East Mississippi Community College receives financial support from appropriations from the state legislature and through tuition and fees. In addition, there are six counties levying tax support for East Mississippi Community College.

Those counties and their Boards of Supervisors are listed below.

Boards of Supervisors

Clay County

Dist. 1 Lynn Horton

Dist. 2 Luke Lummus

Dist. 3 R. B. Davis

Dist. 4 Shelton L. Deanes

Dist. 5 Joe Chandler

Kemper County

Dist. 1 Pat Granger

Dist. 2 Johnny B. Whitsett

Dist. 3 Scott Johnson

Dist. 4 Tony Luke

Dist. 5 Christopher Cole

Lauderdale County

Dist. 1 Jonathan Wells

Dist. 2 Wayman Newell

Dist. 3 Josh Todd

Dist. 4 Joe Norwood

Dist. 5 Kyle Rutledge

Lowndes County

Dist. 1 Harry Sanders

Dist. 2 Trip Hairston

Dist. 3 John Earl Holliman

Dist. 4 Jeffery Smith

Dist. 5 Leroy Brooks

Noxubee County

Dist. 1 Bryan Schimmell

Dist. 2 Landis Mickens

Dist. 3 Lavelle Patterson Rice

Dist. 4 Eddie Coleman

Dist. 5 Bruce Brooks

Oktibbeha County

Dist. 1 John Montgomery

Dist. 2 Orlando Trainer

Dist. 3 Marvell Howard

Dist. 4 Bricklee Miller

Dist. 5 Joe Williams


SCOOBA CAMPUS - The town of Scooba is located in Kemper County, adjacent to the Railroad, U.S. Highway 45, and State Highway 16, 35 miles north of Meridian and 50 miles south of Columbus. The College owns 287 acres of land, 25 of which make up the main campus.

GOLDEN TRIANGLE CAMPUS (Mayhew) - The Golden Triangle Campus is located in Mayhew, Mississippi, on 83 acres adjacent to U.S. Highway 182 (Frontage Road) and one mile east of the intersection of Alternate U.S. Highway 45 and U.S. Highway 82. The campus is 10 miles east of Starkville, 10 miles south of West Point, and 12 miles west of Columbus.

LION HILLS CENTER - The Lion Hills Center, located at 2331 Military Road, Columbus, offers programs of study in Hotel & Restaurant Management Technology, Culinary Arts, Golf/Recreational Turf Management, and Landscape Management. In addition, the college operates an 18-hole, public golf course, and a clubhouse used for public and private meetings.

THE COMMUNIVERSITY - The Communiversity is located one-mile from the Golden Triangle Campus at 7003 South Frontage Road, Columbus, MS adjacent to U.S. Highway 182 (Frontage Road). The facility offers associate’s degree programs, workforce training, WIOA/WIN Job Center Services, and testing opportunities to the communities EMCC serves. The facility also serves local business and industry by providing meeting and training spaces.